Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Quick Facts

By the Numbers!

  • 7 Diagnostic Radiology residents are accepted each year (3 advanced positions and 4 categorical positions)
  • 34 total residents are ACGME approved for our training program
  • Large majority of our graduating residents go on to do fellowships
  • 60+ faculty members are available to train and mentor radiology residents
  • Chief resident (PGY5), rising chief resident (PGY4), and junior chief resident (PGY3) are elected each year

What Other Residencies/Fellowships Do You Offer?

Check out our full list of residencies and fellowships.

Scheduled Areas of Rotation

Residents rotate through all the below areas during the first three years of their residency:

  • Body CT, fluoroscopy and MR
  • Breast imaging
  • Chest
  • Head & Neck
  • Musculoskeletal
  • Neuro CT, MR
  • Nuclear Medicine, including PET and cardiac
  • Pediatric radiology
  • Ultrasound
  • Veteran's Administration Medical Center
  • Vascular interventional

During their PGY3 and PGY4 years, residents also participate in rotations in education or research. PGY5 residents are allowed, within approved parameters, to select which subspeciality areas they wish to rotate through. These are known as "mini fellowships."


Board Certification Requirements