Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

About the Programs

The Department of Urology non-accredited fellowships are designed to provide intense training in a specialized area of urology to highly qualified graduates of accredited urology residency training programs. Fellowships are tailored to an individual’s interests, whether clinical or research, and are available for one or two years. Fellowships will prepare a graduate for specialized practice within a community or academic environment.

The Department of Urology places primary emphasis on the residency training program; thus, clinical fellows are educational resources to the residents and assist them in clinic and during surgery. Residents interested in applying for one of our non-accredited fellowship training programs must be eligible for a permanent Iowa medical license. Please visit the Iowa Board of Medicine website for licensure eligibility criteria. Candidates will also be responsible for obtaining an appropriate visa. 

The Department of Urology offers the following non-accredited fellowship programs.

Endourology and Laparoscopy

Director: Dr. Chad Tracy
Duration: 1 year
Read more about our Endourology, Robotics, and Laparoscopic program

Genitourinary Reconstruction

Director: Dr. Brad Erickson
Duration: 1 year clinical or 2 year clinical/research
Read more about our Genitourinary Reconstruction program.

*Applicants interested in a 24-month fellowship that would include 12 months of clinical and/or basic science research should alert Theresa Lent at the time of application submission. The research year would commence in the second year of the fellowship.

For detailed information on these fellowship programs please contact:

Theresa Lent
UI Department of Urology
200 Hawkins Drive
3209 Roy J. Carver Pavilion (RCP)
Iowa City, IA 52242-1089
Email: theresa-lent@uiowa.edu
Phone: 1-319-353-8939