Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

Our Faculty

The Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery has faculty whose clinical, teaching, and research expertise spans a comprehensive and immersive experience into the diagnosis, management and treatment of all aspects of cardiovascular and thoracic diseases.

Cardiothoracic Surgery Faculty

Evgeny Arshava

Evgeny Arshava, MD, FACS

Clinical Associate Professor
Thoracic Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-2032
evgeny-arshava@uiowa.edu

Mohammed Bashir

Mohammad Bashir, MBBS

Clinical Associate Professor, Structural Heart Disease Program Surgical Director
Adult Cardiac Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-4087
mohammad-bashir@uiowa.edu


Moshem Karimi

Mohsen Karimi, MD, MS, MBA

Clinical Professor, Pediatric Cardiac Surgery
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-353-6810
mohsen-karimi@uiowa.edu

John Keech

John Keech, MD, FACS

Clinical Associate Professor, Educational Program Director, 
Director of the Center for Procedural Skills and Simulation
Thoracic Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-4518
john-keech@uiowa.edu

Sharon Beth Larson

Sharon Beth Larson, DO, MS, FACOS

Clinical Assistant Professor, ECMO Surgical Director
Adult Cardiac Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-1330
sharon-larson@uiowa.edu

Ali Nasr

Ali Nasr, MD, PhD, FETCS, FACS

Clinical Assistant Professor
Adult Cardiac Surgery/Procurement Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-0848
ali-nasr@uiowa.edu

Anthony Panos

Anthony Panos, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FACS

Adult Cardiac Surgery Professor, Heart Transplant Surgical Director, Mechanical Circulatory Support Surgical Director
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-356-8868
anthony-panos@uiowa.edu  

Kalpaj Parekh

Kalpaj Parekh, MBBS

Nicholas P. Rossi Professor, Interim Chair and DEO
Professor, Lung Transplant Surgical Director
Thoracic Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-353-6758
kalpaj-parekh@uiowa.edu

Marco Ricci

Marco Ricci, MD, MBA

Professor of Surgery, Chief Pediatric Cardiac Surgery
Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-467-5133
marco-ricci@uiowa.edu

Arun Singhal

Arun Singhal, MD, PhD, FACS

Clinical Associate Professor
Adult Cardiac Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
1-319-384-8365
arun-singhal@uiowa.edu 

Anthony Swatek, MD

Assistant Professor
Thoracic Surgery Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery
319-353-8476
anthony-swatek@uiowa.edu
 


Please select a link below to view emeritus faculty profiles.