Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care
Dr. Hart and air care photo

Welcome to the University of Iowa Emergency Medical Services Fellowship!

Our purpose is to:

  • Maintain a high bar of standardized training for EMS physicians
  • Teach the proper qualifications to practice EMS medicine to include board certification
  • Discover new methods to advance the science of EMS
  • Further organize and integrate the care needed for the chain of survival
  • Improve patient care quality and safety
  • Educate the next generation of EMS clinicians
  • Advocate on behalf of EMS clinicians

Our fellows achieve competency in the clinical aspects of EMS, medical oversight, quality management, research, and special operations. Graduates are eligible for the Emergency Medical Services board certification examination.

Contact Us

Azeemuddin Ahmed, MD, MBA
Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine
EMS Fellowship Program Director

Kelby Kiefer
EMS Fellowship Program Coordinator

University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
Department of Emergency Medicine
200 Hawkins Drive, 1008 RCP
Iowa City, IA 52242
Email: kelby-kiefer@uiowa.edu
(319) 384-6468 phone
(319) 356-1138 fax

Follow Us on Twitter