Shriver Receives Orkan G. Stasior Leadership Award

Erin M. Shriver, MD, FACSDr. Erin Shriver was awarded the 2020 Orkan G. Stasior Leadership Award during the ASOPRS 2020 Virtual Spring Scientific Symposium. This award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated distinguished service in the field of ophthalmic plastic and reconstructive surgery through education, research, humanitarian activities and/or service to the Society. This award is presented in recognition of the leadership of ASOPRS charter member, Orkan G. Stasior, MD.

Excerpt from the program-

Erin M. Shriver, MD, FACS is a Clinical Associate Professor and the Jim O'Brien Gross and Donnita Gross Professor of Ophthalmology in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Iowa. She is actively involved in clinical practice, teaching, research, and advocacy. Dr. Shriver is currently President of Women in Ophthalmology and the Iowa Academy of Ophthalmology and has participated in the Leadership Development Program through AAO. She proudly serves ASOPRS as the AMA Delegate, Secretary of the ASOPRS Foundation, and as a member of multiple committees including the Fellowship Review and Thesis Committees. Her research interests include advances in oculoplastic techniques, critical analysis of current oculoplastic practices, establishing novel metrics for eyelid position and aesthetics, thyroid eye disease, intimate partner violence in ophthalmology patients, and the physics of eyelid malposition. When she is not working, she enjoys exercising and spending time with her husband and sons.

Monday, July 6, 2020