Logo for University of Iowa Health Care This logo represents the University of Iowa Health Care

2021 Resident and Fellow Graduation

Congratulations to our 2021 Resident and Fellow Graduates! We are so proud of their accomplishments and wish them continued success in their careers.


Residency Class of 2021

Left to right:

  • Tyler Quist, MD
  • Glaucoma Fellowship
  • University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
  • Iowa City, IA
  • Alexis Warren, MD
  • Vitreoretinal Surgery Fellowship
  • University of Illinois – Chicago
  • Chicago, IL
  • Caroline Wilson, MD
  • Cornea, External Disease and Refractive Surgery Fellowship
  • Vance Thompson Vision
  • Sioux Falls, SD
  • Lauren Hock, MD
  • Glaucoma Fellowship
  • Wills Eye Hospital
  • Philadelphia, PA
  • Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD
  • Vitreoretinal Surgery Fellowship
  • University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
  • Iowa City, IA


Timothy Boyce, MD

  • Timothy Boyce, MD (Retina)
  • Vitreoretinal Service Faculty
  • University of Iowa
  • Iowa City, IA

Austin Fox, MD

  • Austin Fox, MD (Glaucoma)
  • Glaucoma Faculty
  • UC Irvine Gavin Herbert Eye Institute
  • Irvine, CA

Yong Kam, MD

  • Yong Kam, MD (Cornea)
  • Moyes Eye Center
  • Kansas City, MO

Luis Andre Leal Ferman

  • Luis Andre Leal Ferman, MD (Neuro-Ophthalmology) (center-right)
  • Clinique Neuro Rive-Sud Hopital Charles-Le Moyne
  • Longueuil, Qc, CA
  • Alanna Tisdale, MD, MPH (Neuro-Ophthalmology) (center-left)
  • Neuro-Ophthalmology & Comprehensive Faculty
  • Boston University
  • Boston, MA

Brittany Simmons, MD

  • Brittany Simmons, MD (Oculoplastics)
  • Oculoplastics Faculty
  • Henry Ford Health System
  • Detroit, MI

Heather Stiff, MD

  • Heather Stiff, MD (Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus)
  • Pediatric Ophthalmology
  • Children's Hospital and Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Milwaukee, WI

Aaron Ricca, MD

  • Aaron Ricca, MD (Retina)
  • Retina Associates of Kentucky
  • Lexington, KY


  • Stacy Thompson Resident Leadership Award: Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD

Stacy Thompson Leadership AwardStacy Thompson Leadership Award - Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD

  • Arbisser 'Top Gun' Award: Lauren Hock, MD

Arbisser 'Top Gun' Award - Lauren Hock, MD

P.J. Leinfelder Awards

Resident: Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD, "Neutralizing Antibodies to SARS-CoV-2 and the Risk of Infection at a Tertiary Care Center"

P.J. Leinfelder Award - Christopher Fortenbach, MD, PhD

Fellow: YongKam, MD, "Examining the Relationship Between Injector Lumen Diameter and Exposed Endothelial Surface Area and Tissue Conformation of DMEK Tissue Scrolls"

Fellow : Brittany Simmons, MD, "Markers for Sebaceous Carcinoma: Enhancing Histologic Analysis"

Medical Student Award for Resident Teaching: Salma Dawoud, MD

Medical Student Award for Fellow Teaching: Alanna Tisdale, MD, MPH

Medical Student Award for Faculty Teaching: Erin Boese, MD

Trish Duffel Award: Kelsey Hunold

Resident Award for Fellow Teaching: Heather Stiff, MD

Resident Award for Faculty Teaching: Justin Bloomberg, DO and Matthew J. Thurtell, MBBS, MSc


Photo Album: https://iowaeyealumni.shutterfly.com/pictures/1998

Graduation Ceremony: https://vimeo.com/573058718

Class Skits​

Friday, July 9, 2021