Our People

The Glaucoma Service has four attending physicians at the UIHC:

Glaucoma faculty photo

Left to right: Erin A. Boese MD; John H. Fingert MD, PhD; Andrew Pouw MD; Nathan C. Sears MD

Two additional emeritus and part-time faculty participate in fellow education and research training:

Wallace Alward, portrait Young Kwon, portrait

Left to right: Wallace L.M. Alward MD and Young H. Kwon MD, PhD

The three senior members of the faculty (Drs. Alward, Kwon, and Fingert) have been named as Best Doctors®. In 2011 Dr. Alward was recognized by U.S. News & World Report as being among the country's best ophthalmologists.

In addition to the glaucoma fellow, the clinic is staffed by a first- and third-year opthalmology resident. There are three technicians who manage patient flow as well as a full-time clinical research coordinator. There are five dedicated perimetrists trained in both Goldman and automated visual field testing who are shared by all services. 

We are also training the next generation of scientists with the skills needed to investigate the causes and potential cures of glaucoma in the research laboratories of the Iowa Glaucoma Center. We have a comprehensive research program that includes stem cell biology, transgenic aninmal models, human molecular genetic studies, pediatric glaucoma research, and high throughput drug testing.

Glaucoma Fellowship Director

Erin A Boese, MD

Erin A. Boese, MD

Clinical Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Current Fellow

Sean Rivera, MD

Sean Rivera


  • Ophthalmology Residency, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Internship, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • MD, University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Our Fellow Alumni

Our fellowship is extremely competitive and we are fortunate to have had wonderful fellows over the years. Fellows graduating from the University of Iowa practice in 22 states in the United States and in countries around the world.

Clinical Fellows

  • Elisabeth Aponte, MD, Tallahassee, Fla.
  • William A. Argus, MD, Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • Roger Barth, MD, Kalispell, Mont.
  • Pierre Blondeau, MD, Saint-Denis-de-Brompton, Quebec, Canada
  • Christina Bruno, MD, Falls Church, Va.
  • James Burden, MD, Willford Hall Medical Center, San Antonio
  • John Campagna, MD, San Antonio
  • Dean Carlson, MD, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Megan Chambers, MD, Columbus, Ohio
  • Jiaxi Ding, MD, Greensboro, N.C.
  • John Fingert, MD, PhD, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Austin Fox, MD, University of California Irvine, Gavin Herbert Eye Institute, Irvine, Calif.
  • Thomas Graul, MD, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Emily Greenlee, MD, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
  • William Haynes, MD, Asheville, N.C.
  • Robert Honkanen, MD, Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, N.Y.
  • A. Tim Johnson, MD, PhD, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Jason P. Kam, MD, Kaiser Permanente, Seattle
  • Cheryl Khanna, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minn.
  • Michael Krasnow, DO, PhD, Marshall University, Huntington, W.Va.
  • Ed Langlow, MD, Mandeville, La.
  • John Lee, MD, Decatur, Ill.
  • Richard A. Lewis, MD, Sacramento, Calif.
  • Reid Longmuir, MD, Nashville, Tenn.
  • Michael Maley, MD, Elmwood Park, N.J.
  • J. Kevin McKinney, MD, Oregon City, Ore.
  • John H. Mensher, MD, Seattle
  • Matthew A. Miller, MD, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Martin Mizener, MD, Omaha, Neb.
  • Michael Motolko, MD, London, Ontario, Canada
  • Robert B. Nixon, MD, Rapid City, S.D.
  • S. Douglas Owens, MD, Montgomery, Ala.
  • Ana Rubin Panvini, MD, Geisinger Medical Center, Danville, Pa.
  • Gregory J. Panzo, MD, Mt. Dora, Fla.
  • Mansi Parikh, MD, Oregon Health Sciences University, Casey Eye Institute, Portland, Ore.
  • Charles D. Phelps, MD, deceased
  • Scott Piette, DO, Pottsville, Pa.
  • Gary K. Phelps, MD, Southport, Queensland, Australia
  • Tyler S. Quist, MD, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Lesya Shuba, MD, PhD, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
  • Robert Smith, MD, Lancaster, Wis.
  • Kirk Sturridge, MD, Dothan, Ala.
  • Gregpry E. Sutton, MD, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Ed Sung, MD, Wheaton, Ill.
  • Shandiz Tehrani, MD, PhD, Oregon Health Sciences University, Casey Eye Institute, Portland, Ore.
  • Brian Tienor, MD, PhD, Homewood, Ill.
  • Yaffa Weaver Brown, MD, Mobile, Ala.
  • Mitchell D. Wolfe, MD, Madison, Wis.
  • Norman Zabriskie, MD, University of Utah, Salt Lake City
  • Ze Zhang, MD, New Orleans

Research Fellows

  • Nour Arafat, MD, Amman, Jordan
  • Minoru Araki, MD, Tokyo
  • Adnan H. Halasa, MD, Amman, Jordan
  • Sungpyo Hong, MD, PhD, Daegu, South Korea
  • Kazuhide Kawase, MD, Gifu University, Graduate School of Medicine, Gifu, Japan
  • ChanYun Kim, MD, PhD, Sodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea
  • Chang-Sik Kim, MD, Taejon, South Korea
  • Young Kim, MD, Pasan, South Korea
  • Dertad Manguikian, MD, Fairfax, Va.
  • Mary Lucy Pereira, MD, Coral Gables, Fla.
  • Samir G. Salamoun, MD, Beirut

Contact Ophthalmology Directors

Glaucoma Fellowship Director

Erin A. Boese, MD

Phone: 1-319-356-3938
E-mail Dr. Boese's Administrative Assistant: christine-welte@uiowa.edu

Ophthalmology Fellowship Training Program Director

Questions regarding ophthalmology fellowships in general may be directed to:

Scott A. Larson, MD

Phone: 1-319-356-0382
E-mail Dr. Larson's Secretary: vikki-bell@uiowa.edu

Department of Ophthalmology 
University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics 
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, IA 52242-1091