Our People

Program Leadership

Rebecca Tuetken, MD, PhD
Director, Rheumatology Fellowship Program
Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Phone: 319-353-7089
Email: rebecca-tuetken@uiowa.edu 

Bharat Kumar, MD
Associate Director, Rheumatology Fellowship Program
Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

Phone: 319-356-2863
Email: bharat-kumar@uiowa.edu

Scott A. Vogelgesang, MD
Director, Division of Immunology
Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine

Phone: 319-356-7725
Email: scott-vogelgesang@uiowa.edu

Contact Us

Patty Bruffey Thoene
​Rheumatology Fellowship Coordinator
Department of Internal Medicine - C42-B GH
The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine 
200 Hawkins Drive 
Iowa City, IA; 52242-1009 

Phone: 319.356.1311
Email: patricia-bruffeythoene@uiowa.edu

Denise Floerchinger
​Internal Medicine Fellowship Program Administrator

Phone: 319.356.2732
Email: denise-floerchinger@uiowa.edu

Current Faculty

The Department of Internal Medicine has a faculty of nearly 300 professionals whose clinical, teaching, and research expertise spans the entire discipline of medicine.

Immunology Division Faculty (Allergy/Immunology and Rheumatology)

Department Faculty (alphabetical listing)

Current Fellows

Alick Feng

Alick Feng, MD (F1)
Medical School: University of Iowa
Residency: University of Iowa

Gatra Gheriani

Gatra Gheriani, MBChB (F1)
Medical School: University of Benghazi
Residency: St. Agnes Hospital

Matthew Mandell


Matthew Mandell, DO (F2)
Medical School: Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Residency: University of Illinois College of Medicine-Chicago

Jennifer Strouse

Jenny Strouse, MD (F2)
Medical School: Medical College of Wisconsin
Residency: University of Iowa

Chair, Department of Internal Medicine

Isabella Grumbach, MD, PhD
Interim Chair and DEO, Department of Internal Medicine
Kate Daum Endowed Professor
Professor of Medicine – Cardiovascular Medicine
Professor of Radiation Oncology