Our People

At Iowa, you will be exposed to some of the best clinicians, researchers and teachers in our profession. Through formal mentoring programs as well as an open-door philosophy, we provide high-powered opportunities for you to learn career-long lessons from these dedicated professionals. 

Additionally, we are committed to helping you achieve your training aims. Classmates in your residency class will share in the support and encouragement that will help you excel.





Current Residents

Class of 2024

Joshua Bauer, portrait

Joshua Bauer, MD

Emily Falch, portrait

Emily Falch, MD

Megan Horne, portrait

Megan Horne, MD

William Lynn, portrait

William Lynn, MD

Cassandra Moylan, portrait

Cassandra Moylan, MD

David Ruehlmann, portrait

David Ruehlmann, MD

Johnathan Van Erdewyk

Jonathan Van Erdewyk, DO

Michael Wallum, portrait

Michael Wallum, MD

Benjamin Wilkinson, portrait

Benjamin Wilkinson, MD

Class of 2025

Jordan Huttash, MD

Giovana Landal de Almeida Lobo, MD

Nicholas Lind, MD

Katherine Marciniec, DO

Savannah Mayer, DO

Kaitlyn McQuade, MD

Nancy Mikati, MD

Nathan Pfister, MD

Christopher Schanbacher, MD

Omar Shaban, MD

Class of 2026

Unique Andres, MD

Andrew Blink, MD

Charles Cain, MD

Tyler Hansen, DO

Taylor Hill, DO

Benjamin Jacobs, DO

Talus McCowan, MD

Carlin Situmeang, DO

Zainab Tanveer, MD

Paola Teran Rodriguez, MD


Emergency Medicine Residency Faculty

Department Leadership


Advanced Practice Providers

  • Jeremy Nelson, PA-C
  • Amy Vahrenwald, ARNP
  • Dave Walz, PA-C
  • Michelle Whaylen, PA-C

Secondary Appointment in Emergency Medicine


Residency Alumni

Our residents have many choices available after completing their residency training.

  • Natalie Bridge, MD - UnityPoint Health - Iowa Methodist Medical Center Des Moines, IA
  • Kathy Briggie, DO - UIHC Ultrasound Fellowship
  • Melvin Donaldson, MD, PhD - UIHC EMS Fellowship
  • Samuel Irving, MD, PhD - UIHC Ultrasound Fellowship
  • Emily Mills, MD - Mery Hospital South St. Louis, MO
  • Stephen Peery, MD - EPPA Minneapolis, MN
  • Edward Rekart, MD - Canada
  • Farhan Shahab, MD - UW Health Northern Illinois

Below is a summary of recent resident destinations.  ​

Contact Us

Residency Program Coordinator

Nikki Hansen
Residency Program Coordinator
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive, 1008 RCP
Iowa City, IA 52242
319-384-6511 ph
319-356-1138 fax
Email: nicole-hansen@uiowa.edu

Residency Program Director

Mike Takacs, MD 
Residency Program Director 
Department of Emergency Medicine 
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive, 1008 RCP 
Iowa City, IA 52242 
319-356-1484 ph 
Email: michael-takacs@uiowa.edu

Chair & Department Executive Officer

Andrew Nugent, MD 
Department Chair 
Department of Emergency Medicine 
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
200 Hawkins Dr, 1008 RCP 
Iowa City, IA 52242 
319-353-6360 ph 
Email: andrew-nugent@uiowa.edu