Our People

Retina fellows
L to R: Karam Alawa, MD (23R), Timothy Boyce, MD (21F), Razek Georges Coussa, MD (20F, 22F), Aaron Ricca, MD (18R, 21F), Edwin Stone, MD, PhD, and Elliott Sohn, MD.

Our people are the heart of our program. From the reception desk to the exam room, from laboratory to diagnostic suite, from the auditorium to the library, from administration office to faculty office you will find our people eager to help you become the best ophthalmologist you can be.

At Iowa, you will be exposed to some of the best clinicians, researchers and teachers in our profession. We provide high-powered opportunities for you to learn career-long lessons from these dedicated professionals.

2020 Macula Society

2020 Macula Society (L to R): Elliott Sohn, MD; Culver Boldt, MD; James Folk, MD; Edwin Stone, MD, PhD; Ian Han, MD; Stephen Russell, MD

Our Faculty

Faculty members in the Retina Service include

Michael D. Abramoff, portrait

Michael D. Abramoff, M.D.
Ph.D., Professor
Robert C. Watzke, MD, Professorship in Retina Research

Elaine M. Binkley, portrait

Elaine M. Binkley, MD
Assistant Professor

H. Culver Boldt, M.D.

H. Culver Boldt, M.D.
Professor and Fellowship Director
Marion and Frederick Fuerste, M.D. Professor of Ophthalmology

Timothy M. Boyce, MD

Timothy M. Boyce, MD
Assistant Professor

James C. Folk, portrait

James C. Folk, M.D.
Judith (Gardner) and Donald H. Beisner, M.D., Professor of Vitreoretinal Diseases and Surgery

Karen M. Gehrs, portrait

Karen M. Gehrs, M.D.

Ian Han, MD

Ian C. Han, M.D.
Associate Professor

Jonathan F. Russell, MD, PhD

Jonathan F. Russell, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor

Steve Russell

Stephen R. Russell, M.D.
Dina J Schrage Professor of Macular Degeneration Research

Elliott Sohn

Elliott H. Sohn, M.D.
Associate Professor

Edwin M. Stone, M.D., Ph.D.

Edwin M. Stone, M.D., Ph.D.
Seamans-Hauser Chair in Molecular Ophthalmology

All faculty members in the department are full-time members of the Department of Ophthalmology. The care of patients by the fellows is completely under the supervision of these staff members. No diagnosis is made or a surgical procedure planned or performed without their knowledge and direct supervision.

Our Current Fellows

Surgical Retina

Randy Bowen, MD, MS

Randy Bowen, portrait


  • Ophthalmology Residency, University of Wisconsin Department of Ophthalmology, Madison, Wis.
  • Internship, University of Utah Hospital, Salt Lake City
  • MD, Utah School of Medicine, Salt Lake City
  • BS, Biology, Biochemistry, Utah State University, Logan, Utah

Projected Completion Date: 2022

Please add:

Douglas Jin, MD

Douglas Jin, portrait


  • Ophthalmology Residency, University of Oklahoma, Dean McGee Eye Institute, Oklahoma City
  • MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston
  • BS, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.
  • Projected Completion Date: June 2023

Razek Georges Coussa, MD

Razek Georges Coussa, portrait


  • Fellowship, Medical Retina, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Fellowship, Pediatric Ophthalmology, Cole Eye Institute, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland
  • Ophthalmology Residency, McGill University, Faculty of Medicine, Montreal
  • MD, McGill University, Faculty of Medicine, Montreal
  • MPhil, Bioscience Enterprise, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England
  • MEng, Biomedical Engineering, McGill University, Montreal
  • BA, Chemical Engineering, McGill University, Montreal

Projected Completion Date: 2022

Medical Retina Alumni

(sorted by date of fellowship)

Michael A. Grassi, Chicago — Medical Retina & Molecular Ophthalmology (2003-2006)

Lucas J. A. Wendel, Iowa City, Iowa — Medical Retina (2010-2011)

Benjamin Bakall, Scottsdale, Ariz. — Medical Retina & Retinal Research (2011-2013)

Lorna W. Grant, Utica, N.Y. — Medical Retina (2013-2014)

Rachel M. Huckfeldt, Boston — Medical Retina (2014-2015)

Andrew R. Carey, Baltimore — Medical Retina (2015-2016)

Christine Clavell, MD — Medical Retina (2016-2017)

Christy M. Cunningham, Kansas City, Mo. — Medical Retina (2017-2018)

Laith M. Kadasi, MD — Medical Retina (2018-2019)

Razek Georges Coussa, MD — Medical Retina (2019-2020)

Chirantan Mukhopadhyay, MD — Medical Retina (2021-2022)

Contact Us

Vitreoretinal Fellowship Director

H. Culver Boldt, MD

Department of Ophthalmology
University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1091

Administrative Support: Kim Tolsdorf, kim-tolsdorf@uiowa.edu​
Phone: 1-319-356-3185

Medical Retina Fellowship Coordinator

Kim Tolsdorf

Department of Ophthalmology
University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1091

E-mail: kim-tolsdorf@uiowa.edu
Phone: 1-319-356-3185

Ophthalmology Fellowship Training Program Director

Questions regarding ophthalmology fellowships in general should be directed to:

Scott A. Larson, MD

Department of Ophthalmology 
University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics 
200 Hawkins Drive
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1091

E-mail: scott-a-larson@uiowa.edu
Phone: 1-319-356-2859